The Great Studio Organist Sandy Kay Rest In Peace

My first article is going to be a bittersweet one. This is a recent interview that I have had with the incompressible Sandy Kay formerly of the Soul Survivors.

<p>JJ: How did you first get interested in music?
JJ: But you did Eventually go on Tour with the Soul Survivors. What changed your mind?

Sandy Kay
(SK): I was sitting in my living room with my Mom and Dad and in early February of 1964, when The Beatles first appeared on The Ed Sullivan Show I was just enthralled by the music, the fast chords and the rift changes. That sparked my interest in music. I just needed to find the right instrument for me. And that really was the catalyst for my interest in music. My mother was a music teacher, she taught piano, she taught me a few of the classic songs, but it just did not feel right. The organ seemed to be the right instrument for me.

JJ: Why didn’t you join or start your own band?
SK: If I started my own band or joined one, it would lock me into one particular band. This way, I had the possibility of playing with legendary greats as Ike Turner and Otis Redding.

SK: We had a hit song, Expressway to Your Heart and I just couldn’t let my fans down. We were originally called The Dedications when we were playing out of New York.

JJ: Who all comprised the band?
SK:* Charlie Ingui – vocals
* Richie Ingui – vocals
* Kenny Jeremiah – vocals
* John Dzubak – drums
* Ralph Capobianco drums & percussion
* Sandy Kay – organ
* Chuck Trois – guitar
* Edward Leonetti – guitar

JJ: What influenced you to adopt the blacks Rythm and Blues sound. ? What bands influenced you?
SK: Let’s face it, it was a turbulent times in the 60’s and lines were not just being blurred, they were being crossed. The Rhythm and blues the blacks were singng about spoke what I felt. It was just natural to gravitate towards that type of Music.

JJ: What was the Memphis music scene like in the ’60’s?
SK: It was very eclectic and very lively. It was a dichotomy of moods. On one hand we didn’t have a care in in the world and at the same time we had the Vietnam war just starting up. We worried if we were going to be called up and be drafted. What we would do. If we would go in, take a jail sentence or run to Canada.

JJ: Where did the band typically play?
SK: At fiust we were just playing night clubs and honky tonks. When Gamble and Huff started with us we were able tog et into auditoriums where it was the music not the cheap booze people were interested in.

This is Just JJ here. The reason why it is a bitter sweet moment for me is because Sandy Kay passed away last month. March 15, 2011. Rest in Peace Sandy, we will remember and miss you. I will put up the rest of the interview soon. Just be patient with me while I grieve. He was a good friend and a good neighbor. Here is a recent picture I took of him, before he passed away.

Below is the real Sandy Kay. Accept no other.
photo_1

About littletoys9

I am fascinated, by what men are fascinated by. Welcome to my blog, Little Toys for Big Boys.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment